©2019 by Climate Sentinels.

Glaciologist-Engineer

Dorothée obtained her PhD in Glaciology from the university of Uppsala (Sweden) in 2018. She investigated glacier processes at the base and at the front by studying two glaciers in Svalbard, Tunabreen and Kronebreen. During 5 years, she used a large amount of data to model glacier sliding and calving and has also participated to several field campaigns. French civil engineer, her interest for the Arctic and polar research started with a two years position as a science officer at the French embassy in Sweden during the Swedish presidency of the Arctic council.

Hi Dorothée!

Where are you right now and where are you originally from?
I am from France, where I grew up and studied. In 2010, by chance, I moved to Sweden. And I am still there!

What is your current job?
I obtained my PhD in glaciology last year and I am working at the Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute of Sweden now.

Can you describe yourself in 3 words?
Curious, passionate, resolute!

What does “Climate Sentinels” mean for you?
In a few words: science, friends, climate, women, Svalbard (I fell in love with), ski, nature, challenge...

What are you hoping to achieve with this project?
I want to inspire others and particularly women and scientists! This is also a proper challenge for me at so many levels. I hope to get the proper physical and mental conditions. Finally I hope to show my daughter and the next generations there is a way to learn from and respect nature.

Is there anything that scares/worries you about the expedition?
Bears!!!! And the cold maybe a little bit...

What are you most excited about with this project?
Go back to Svalbard, be worth my friends and inspire!!!